Walking down the aisle

Save the date(s)

Hi! Yes I’ve been dormant, but I will try to be better this year!

My wedding is less than 6 months away, and pretty much 85% things are taken care of. We have booked our honeymoon (separate posting coming up), 4 out of my 6 bridesmaids have found their dresses, we have decided on our wedding favours, and I’m having a meeting this weekend with my friend who will be making our wedding cake! So technically I could get married right next month šŸ™‚

Anyways, back to the topic for today – SAVE THE DATEs. We don’t have the biggest budget for our wedding, so we decided to save a bit of money by going with e-version of Save the dates, rather than mailing them out. We’ve already sent one out exactly 1 year before the wedding, since ours is during the peak of wedding season and wanted to give people plenty of heads up! And now that we are less than half a year away, we will be sending a second round of Save the dates hopefully this weekend.

I’ve designed all our stationaries – from Save the dates to our invitation cards and RSVP cards, and also our website – and this certainly helped us with saving money here and there. So if you have the skills, this is the time to use it!

First thing I had to keep in mind before designing all these stationaries, was the THEME. I love peonies, and our wedding colours are blush, lavender, and gold, so I had to work these into all of them. Each with their own ‘oomph’, but with a common melody. I looked up and researched a lot of other available designs online for reference, since this was my first time designing anything of this sort.

savethedate

As you can see – there are lots of pink & lavender-coloured flowers (although no peonies :(), I kept it simple enough with a touch of gold. And our round 2 Save the dates looks like this:

savethedate_round2

This one is a bit more ‘personal’, as now we have a bunch of pictures from our engagement session. But the colour gold stayed, as well as my lavender skirt.

What do you think? I think e-Save the dates are a great alternative to traditional snail-mail ones, as:

  • It’s cost-effective
  • You know it won’t get lost
  • Everyone is on their phones anyways, checking their emails constantly
  • And you’re saving trees!

Ahnyoung for now šŸ™‚

Standard

Leave a Reply

