Madrid Life

Afternoon at Thyssen museum

I stopped by Thyssen museum with a few of my classmates over the long weekend. It’s near Prado museum and is part of the ‘golden triangle of art’ in Madrid with Prado museum and Reina Sofia museum. I really enjoy going to different museums (Leopold museum in Vienna is one of my absolute favourites), so I love the student discount we get for being students again. And I have to say, I personally enjoyed Thyssen museum more than I enjoyed Prado museum.

Thyssen museum currently has limited-time exhibition of Hubert de Givenchy, which I’m sure many of the girls will notice his name right away. He is a famous designer who used to design for Audrey Hepburn, and the founder of The House of Givenchy. The exhibition includes many of his designs, including wardrobes he designed for Audrey Hepburn, and all my girlfriends that went with me (myself included) wanted everything from the exhibition. I absolutely loved the bridal collection…

I also really liked the Thyssen’s permanent collection as well. From Renaissance and Impressionism to Pop Art, Thyssen offered variety of periods and artists. Unfortunately they had some of Dali and Monet’s paintings on the road so I didn’t get to see them this time.

With student discount, it’s only 9 Euros for both permanent and the special collection or 7 Euros for just permanent. I strongly suggest a visit to the museum if you feel artsy!

Standard

Leave a Reply

