Daily

Music Festivals in BC – Pemberton Music Festival

I have never attended a single music festival in my life, and this year I decided to cross off ‘Attend a weekend-long music festival’ off of my bucket list! Thanks to my partner in crime boyfriend, we decided to hit not only one but TWO festivals in BC this summer.

The first one was Pemberton Music Festival, happened in Pemberton, BC. The lineups were pretty good with Nine Inch Nails, Outkast, and Deadmau5 headlining the festival. One interesting thing about this one was that they had a stage dedicated for comedy acts, and the boyfriend being a big fan of stand-up comedy we chilled out there quite a few times throughout the festival. 

Accommodation-wise, we were very lucky that his parents own a house about 15 min drive from the festival ground. We got a ride every morning and night to and from the festival, which I was very grateful for. We were both quite worried about our allergies, as when we went up there a few weeks before the festival we were both suffering from severe itchy eyes and runny nose and could not do anything other than sneeze every two minutes. Nonetheless after his parents cut all the hay in their hay field our allergy symptoms disappeared and we were fine for the festival. Also, the weather was not the best – even down-poured on one of the nights, making us appreciate the roof over our heads even more 🙂 

From this festival, I was most excited to see Frank Ocean, Outkast, Snoop dogg, Blondie, and St. Vincent. I also wanted to see 3LAU and Cashmere Cat but unfortunately we missed out on those two. My favourites were definitely Frank Ocean!!! (Then Snoop Dogg and Outkast).. 

For $299 + tax + fees, it was a good weekend overall. Since me and my boyfriend refuse camping, the fact that his parents have a place close to the festival ground was one of the reasons why we went to this festival to start with. After having been to Squamish after this one, I am not sure if I will be going back to Pemberton unless they have an amazing lineup. But overall quite well organized event, no crazy lineups for both beer gardens and toilets, although I would like if they had a bit more option of food trucks. 

(Personal) Overall rating: 6.8/10

Standard

Leave a Reply

